About the S150 Committee

Mission Statement

The mission of the Seward Sesquicentennial (S150) Committee is an all-volunteer membership, assigned to develop, promote, coordinate and sponsor activities and projects that assist and create an awareness of Seward’s 150th Anniversary during the 2017- the celebration year of the founding of Seward April 1, 1867 by the Mayor of Seward and the City Council of Seward, Nebraska.

Committee Members

Clark Kolterman – Seward Rotary Club

Vice Chair
Becky Baker – Seward Memorial Library / Friends of Seward Library

Hobbin Wolfe – Seward High Alumni Association

Sandy Wright – Jones National Bank & Trust Co.

Advisory / Honorary Member
Joshua Eickmeier – Mayor of Seward

Honorary Chair-Emeritus
Jean Kolterman – GFWC Seward Woman’s Club / Seward County Historical Society

  • Phil Bangert – Seward Arts Council / Seward Rotary Club
  • Culleen and Alan Bauers – Seward Fourth of July Committee
  • Pat Coldiron – Seward Fourth of July Committee
  • Virginia Fraser – Seward United Methodist
  • Jennifer Furr – Concordia University
  • Suzanne Gligorevic – Seward County Chamber and Economic Development Partnership
  • Sharon and Steve Hambek – Seward Helping Hands Kiwanis Club
  • Kay Hansen – Seward US Post Office
  • Gerald Homp – Bottle Rocket Brewing Co.
  • Jonathan Jank – Seward County Chamber and Economic Development Partnership
  • Jessica Kolterman – Seward Fourth of July Celebration Committee
  • Jon and Bonnie Kruse – Seward Rotary / GFWC Seward Woman’s Club
  • Clifford Lowell – Seward Kiwanis, Seward United Methodist
  • Jill Martin – Seward County Independent
  • Sue McHugh – GFWC Seward Junior Women’s Club / SCCEDP
  • Gerald Meyer – Nebraska National Guard Museum
  • Jordan Miller – Seward County Historical Society
  • Tonia Nantkes – Seward Fourth of July Celebration Committee
  • C. J. Novak – Seward Fourth of July Celebration Committee / Seward County Historical Society
  • Louis Reith – Seward Fourth of July Celebration Committee / Seward Arts Council / Seward Kiwanis
  • Joan Shurtliff – Seward County Genealogical Society
  • Jeanne Wiemer – Seward Arts Council

S150 Committee membersThe entire Sesquicentennial celebration committee is an all-volunteer group with a limited budget. They will attempt to capitalize on existing projects, events and happenings, creating new additional recognition activities to complement the existing activities and commemorate this special celebration.

The committee encourages official representatives from area community organizations and clubs, as well as general citizens to join in planning the Seward Sesquicentennial.  While the Seward Sesquicentennial Committee / Seward 150 Committee is a volunteer community group, it works closely with the leadership of the City of Seward and Mayor Josh Eickmeier.

The group is a sub group of the Seward Arts Council and using their 501(c)(3) tax exempt status to make all donations/investments tax deductible.